RESERVE YOUR SPOT WITH
TEXAS PARKS & WILDLIFE
Join us for Texas Boaters Education Class at
Sea Star Base Galveston. This class is open to all Texas residents. However, you must be at least
13 years old to receive your state issued boaters education card. The class is $20.00 per-person and includes all course materials. We recommend you dress comfortably and bring a sack lunch.
The curriculum is designed for persons of all ages and boating interests be it sailing, skiing, fishing, paddle boating, cruising, personal watercraft, etc. the goal of the program is to reduce boating accidents and violations while promoting legal, courteous and responsible
Boating safety and responsibility are stressed throughout the course. additional topics include ethics and courtesy, accident prevention, general information about boats, safe operating procedures, required safety equipment, boating laws and general boating safety concerns.
MANDATORY BOATER EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
Anyone born on or after September 1, 1993 must successfully complete a Boater education course. This law is in effect for any vessel over 15 horsepower, wind-blown vessels over 14 feet, and all personal watercraft (jet-skis). Persons subject to the mandatory education law must have a picture identification card and a boater certification card issued by the department in their possession while on board any boating vessel. to be exempted from the education law, person(s) must be born before September 1, 1993.
TPWD : Boaters Education CLASS
NEW CLASS DATES COMING SOON!
TWO-STEP REGISTRATION & PAYMENT
Online registration is done through the Texas Parks and Wildlife Website. Select the date you wish to attend from the options above. This will take you to the TPWD website where you complete the registration portion.
Payment can be made to SSBG online by credit card by clicking
the yellow “buy now” button below.
For more information and scheduling, please contact Captain Mike Janota.
Capt. Mike janota
Director of community sailing